Nishnawbe Aski Nation

skip to content
font size: S M L

Executive Council

The Nishnawbe Aski Nation Executive Council consists of a Grand Chief and three Deputy Grand Chiefs elected by the Chiefs of NAN First Nations every three years. Alvin Fiddler, Anna Betty Achneepineskum and Derek Fox were elected in August 2015. Jason Smallboy was elected in a by-election in 2016.

The Executive Council leads the Nation-to-Nation engagement with the governments of Ontario and Canada. Each Executive member is responsible for specific portfolios that correspond to the various departments at NAN.

image walter image image
Grand Chief
Alvin Fiddler
Biography and Portfolio
Deputy Grand Chief
Walter Naveau

Deputy Grand Chief
Derek Fox
Biography and Portfolio
Deputy Grand Chief
Jason Smallboy
Biograpgy and Portfolio