Nishnawbe Aski Nation

skip to content
font size: S M L

July 11, 2016


THUNDER BAY, ON (July 11, 2016): Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN) Head Electoral Officer Adam Fiddler has received and approved nominations from the following candidates for the by-election to fill one vacant Deputy Grand Chief position on the NAN Executive Council:

• Darius Ferris, Constance Lake First Nation
• Raymond Ferris, Constance Lake First Nation
• Solomon Mamakwa, Kingfisher Lake First Nation
• Jason Smallboy, Moose Cree First Nation

Chiefs and proxies from NAN’s 49 First Nations will vote on Wednesday August 10, 2016 during the XXXV Keewaywin Conference in Taykwa Tagamou Nation (August 9-11). The official campaign period will run from July 11 to August 10, 2016.

Elections are held in accordance with the NAN Election Code, which states that a candidate must obtain 50 per cent plus one of the votes cast to be elected. According to the NAN Election Code, an eligible candidate must be:

1. A Status Indian.
2. A member of a recognized NAN First Nation.
3. 18 years of age at the time of the election.

Information on the election process, Election Code, and any information provided by candidates including their biographies and campaign contact information is available on the NAN election website at

The election will be streamed live and available to view on the NAN election website.

Please note: Media must to contact candidates directly to arrange interviews as NAN policy does not allow staff to assist candidates in their campaign work.

For more information about the Nishnawbe Aski Nation by-election please contact: Adam Fiddler, Head Electoral Officer – (807) 632-3907 or by email

For more information about Nishnawbe Aski Nation please contact: Michael Heintzman, Director of Communications – Nishnawbe Aski Nation (807) 625-4965 or (807) 621-2790 mobile or by email

To download release click here