Nishnawbe Aski Nation

skip to content
font size: S M L

Winter Road Network 2017

Winter Road Network

Thirty-four of Nishnawbe Aski Nation's 49 member First Nations are remote, accessible only by air or seasonal roads. The winter road network. The winter road network consists of five district corridors, stretching over approximately 2,800 kilometres across NAN territory, with each corridor connecting a series of First Nations.

In total there are 29 First Nations connected:

Corridor 1 – Pikangikum, Poplar Hill, North Spirit Lake, Deer Lake & Sandy Lake

Corridor 2 – North Caribou, Keewaywin, Koocheching, Muskrat, Sachigo, Bearskin & Cat Lake

Corridor 3 – Wunnumin, Wawakapewin, Kingfisher, Kasabonika, Wapekeka & Kitchenuhmaykoosib Inninuwug

Corridor 4 – Neskantaga, Webequie, Nibinamik, Eabametoong & Marten Falls

Corridor 5 – Attawapiskat, Fort Albany, Kashechewan & Moose Cree

Corridor 6 – Fort Severn & Weenusk

Current Status

Updated March 17, 2017 (Unofficial)

Open to Full Load Commercial Traffic:

18 First Nations –  Nibinamik, North Spirit Lake, Pikangikum, Wawakapewin, Weenusk, Kingfisher Lake, Neskantaga, North Caribou Lake, Sandy Lake, Webequie, Attawapiskat Fort Albany, Kashechewan, Shoal Lake #40, Animakee Wa Zhing #37, Northwest Angle #33, Fort Severn and Moose Cree First Nations

Open to Commercial Traffic less than Full Loads:

10 First Nations – Keewaywin, Muskrat Dam, Poplar Hill, Wunnumin, Bearskin Lake, Deer Lake, Kasabonika Lake, Sachigo Lake, Kitchenuhmaykoosib Inninuwug, and Wapekeka

Personal Vehicle Traffic:

4 First Nations - Cat Lake, Tamagami, Eabametoong, and Marten Falls.